Don’t Let Me Go

You’re moving on a straight plane.

You are constant, and unchanging.

Life moves past you in waves,

And you being the way you are, are gracious and remind me of the need to breathe,

and stay.

And yet to me you seem as though you are straying.

I feel like you are connected to me by a tether, that expands forever,

And yet constantly feels as though it is threading, getting ready to snap.

I reach for you, fingertips into a dark only I can see.

Screaming out your name for help,

To stay with me,

To remind me of the things I am inept of doing.

And while our tether stays connected,

And your eyes stay locked on the horizon,

Tracking your course,

I feel lost and alone.

Scared to exist in solitude,

Terrified to survive in nothingness that consumes me, swallows me.

Leave a comment