I Wish I Was Beautiful.

When I look in the mirror, I instantly search for all of my little imperfections. The acne blemishing my face, that one of my eyes is more almond shape and one is more round. That my hair on that particular day sits awkwardly on my head and turns my face sort of egg shaped. I look past everything else.

The one I love says that I look beautiful. Not that I am without imperfections, but that he has learned to move past them to see the beauty. But to myself, I do not see myself as beautiful.

My thighs are too round, my teeth too yellow, my upper arms no longer gracefully curve down as they did in my younger years, but now are just extra fat perched on me. My nose is too small to even be considered button shaped, and my ears are too large.

I am not the standard of beauty I should be. I feel as though everyone else looks more normal than I. That I am the odd one out.

I wish I was beautiful.

Leave a comment